CITY OF YORKTON SASKATCHEWAN

INAUGURATION CEREMONY OF COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES November 13, 2020

Minutes of the Inauguration Ceremony of Council held on Friday, November 13, 2020 in City Hall Council Chambers.

In Attendance: Past Mayor Bob Maloney, Mayor-elect Mitch Hippsley, Councillors-elect Dustin Brears, Ken Chyz, Randy Goulden, Quinn Haider, Chris Wyatt and Darcy Zaharia.

Guests: Honourable Judge Ross Green

City Administration Present in Council Chambers: Lonnie Kaal – City Manager, Jessica Matsalla – Director of Legislation and Procedures (City Clerk), Raelyn Knudson – Assistant City Clerk and Cindy Gottschall – Executive Administrative Assistant.

Recording: Raelyn Knudson – Assistant City Clerk

CALL TO ORDER

Past Mayor Bob Maloney in the Chair called the Meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

***R00250-2020

Goulden/Zaharia

That the Agenda for this Special Meeting of Council be approved as presented.

Carried Unanimously.***

REPORT OF RETURNING OFFICER

Jessica Matsalla, City Clerk and Returning Officer for the Municipal and School Board Elections expressed her appreciation to all the candidates who showed interest in serving the City of Yorkton and filed nomination papers for the election. She then also thanked all the election officials for serving the community by dedicating their time and working long hours to ensure an efficient process was upheld. Lastly, she thanked all the City Departments of the City of Yorkton, for the collaboration of all their efforts to run a safe election during these challenging times. Ms. Matsalla advised that according to the Saskatchewan Health Covered Population Report for the year ending 2019, there are an estimated 15,000 eligible voters in the City of Yorkton. There were 3,976 registered voters in the 2020 Poll Books. This represents an approximate 26.5% voter turnout. She provided the official results of the 2020 Municipal Election and declared Mitch Hippsley elected to the office of Mayor for the City of Yorkton; Dustin Brears, Ken Chyz, Randy Goulden, Quinn Haider, Chris Wyatt and Darcy Zaharia elected to the office of Councillor for the City of Yorkton, all for the 2020-2024 municipal council term.

***R00251-2020

Haider/Chyz

That Council receive and file the report of the Returning Officer as presented.

Carried Unanimously.***

INAUGURATION OF COUNCIL

Past Mayor Bob Maloney passed the Chain of Office to Mayor-elect Mitch Hippsley.

Honourable Judge Ross Green presided over the Inaugural ceremony of the 2020-2024 municipal council by having Mayor Mitch Hippsley and Councillors Dustin Brears, Ken Chyz, Randy Goulden, Quinn Haider, Chris Wyatt and Darcy Zaharia, each individually, declare their 'Oath or Affirmation – Member of Council' form, at his witness of each member's signature.

***R00252-2020

Zaharia/Wyatt

That this Special Council Meeting adjourn – 5:21 p.m. Carried Unanimously.*** Approved this 23rd day of November A.D. 2020.

Mayor

City Clerk