CITY OF YORKTON SASKATCHEWAN

INAUGURATION CEREMONY OF COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES November 15, 2024

Minutes of the Inauguration Ceremony of Council held on Friday, November 15, 2024 in City Hall Council Chambers.

In Attendance: Mayor-elect Aaron Kienle, Councillors-elect Dustin Brears, Randy Goulden, Quinn Haider, Greg Litvanyi, Stephanie Ortynsky, and Darcy Zaharia.

Guests: Honourable Judge Donna Taylor

City Administration Present in Council Chambers: Brad Hvidston – City Manager, Jessica Matsalla – Director of Legislation and Procedures (City Clerk), Amanda Dietz – Assistant City Clerk, and Amanda Krysa – Executive Administrative Assistant.

Recording: Amanda Dietz – Assistant City Clerk

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor-elect Aaron Kienle in the Chair called the Meeting to order at 5:02 p.m. He then thanked and acknowledged esteemed guests, Member of Legislative Assembly David Chan, the Honourable Judge Taylor, Yorkton Tribal Council Chief Isabel O'Soup, Knowledge and Language Keeper Ross Cadotte, the YTC Drum Group with Cory Cadotte, RCMP Staff Sergeant Burton Jones, and Piper Ferne Katzberg of Yorkton and District Pipe Band.

Mayor-elect Aaron Kienle delivered the Treaty 4 Land Acknowledgement.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

***R00289-2024

Zaharia/Goulden That the Agenda for this Special Meeting of Council be approved as presented.

Carried Unanimously.***

REPORT OF RETURNING OFFICER

Jessica Matsalla, City Clerk and Returning Officer for the Municipal and School Board Elections expressed her appreciation to all the candidates who showed interest in serving the City of Yorkton and filed nomination papers for the election. She then also thanked all the election officials for serving the community by dedicating their time and working long hours to ensure an efficient process was upheld. Ms. Matsalla advised that according to the Saskatchewan Health Covered Population Report for the year ending 2023, there are an estimated 15,442 eligible voters in the City of Yorkton. There were 3,970 registered voters in the 2024 Poll Books. This represents an approximate 25.7% voter turnout. She provided the official results of the 2024 Municipal Election and declared Aaron Kienle elected to the office of Mayor for the City of Yorkton; Dustin Brears, Randy Goulden, Quinn Haider, Greg Litvanyi, Stephanie Ortynsky, and Darcy Zaharia elected to the office of Councillor for the City of Yorkton, all for the 2024-2028 municipal council term. She also reported that for the Good Spirit School Division No. 204, Cara Makort, Jan Morrison and Steve Variyan were acclaimed for seats on the board for the city at large subdivision. For Christ the Teacher Catholic School Division No. 212 Jerome Niezgoda, Jerry Kobylka, and Fred Schrader were acclaimed for seats on the board for the city at large subdivision.

***R00290-2024

Haider/Brears

That Council receive and file the report '2024 Municipal and In-City School Division Results' of the Returning Officer as presented. Carried Unanimously.***

INAUGURATION OF COUNCIL

Honourable Judge D. Taylor presided over the Inaugural ceremony of the 2024-2028 Municipal Council by having Mayor Aaron Kienle and Councillors Dustin Brears, Randy Goulden, Quinn Haider, Greg Litvanyi, Stephanie Ortynsky, and Darcy Zaharia, each individually, declare their 'Oath or Affirmation – Member of Council' form, at her witness of each member's signature.

City Manager Brad Hvidston placed the Chain of Office on the new Mayor Aaron Kienle after he was sworn in by Judge Taylor.

***R00291-2024

Zaharia/Ortynsky That this Special Council Meeting adjourn – 5:30 p.m. Carried Unanimously.***

Approved this 25th day of November A.D. 2024.

Mayor

City Clerk